By the Charles : Part II

This warm day was such a tease, but a perfect day for a blog shoot. As part II of “By the Charles” this is when we actually were “by the Charles”. A beautiful scenery like this is amazing for pictures!

The past year or so women have taken menswear inspired looks to a whole new level. Although this is a trend you could technically view as being around for a while with pieces such as loafers and button ups, women have again, brought this trend to a new level.

When you think of menswear inspired looks it can mean many different things. From simply adding a tie to your outfit to a blazer, button up, slacks and loafers; there are so many variations of a “menswear inspired” look.

My look might not strike you as menswear, but I went for a middle ground menswear look. I began the look with the white button down, black pants and loafers.

Charles30

I then added this plaid cropped sweater over the button up to add color and for a more put together look.

Charles41

For accessories I wore black triangular studs with gold detailing, added a black neck tie (which is the new alternative to scarfs for the 2016 season) and I paired my vintage red bag (also with gold detailing) for a better pop of color and to compliment my red nails and lips. (Side note : the color on my lips is Nars Cruella Velvet Matte Lip Pencil, which was one of the two lip pencils from Sephora’s birthday gift last year and it honestly might be the best red I have ever owned and that’s coming from a dancer of 18 years.)

Charles57

Charles64

Charles76

I felt very sophisticated walking around in this outfit. I’d wear it to my internship or even out for a coffee date. I hope like all the people that have inspired me to try out a menswear look, that I can inspire you to try it out too!

White Button Up: (my roommate’s) Lands’ End, Plaid Crop Sweater: TJ Maxx or Marshall’s (not sure), Neck Tie: (my friend Haley’s) LIT Boutique, Black Pants: Zara, Loafers: Zara, Bag: Vintage

 

It was such a beautiful day and such a beautiful scene that I got behind the camera because of course Caitlin needed to have some pictures done too! (Side note: coming soon to the blog, “Behind the Lens”!)

Don’t forget to check out Caitlin’s website! (caitlinhboyle.com)

Charles78

Thank you for reading! Until next time! XO.

Eloquently Yours,

E

Leave a Reply

